Loan Apps: A weapon fashioned against Nigerians by Nigerians.

Descriptive image of those who lends money at exorbitant rates of interest and a victim cowering in shame.

Due to the constant degradation of the Nigerian economy, the masses especially the middle and lower class are on the verge of bankruptcy, hunger strike and serious financial instability. It’s not a new thing that for years, the value of Nigerian currency refuses to increase. Yet, everything that can be acquired with this currency continues to increase rapidly. A derica of rice starts from N500, a malnourished tuber of yam Is sold for N1000 or even N1200 and the major problem is if you don’t buy it, you can’t eat. Tuition fee is expensive, even the federal and states universities are starting to charge ridiculous prices with no evident improvement in the school facilities or the education system. Asuu strike has become a festival, everything is going insane and somehow Nigerians still make jokes, adapt and laugh in the harsh face of hard times, which makes me wonder if there’s anyone really normal in this country. Being a fresh graduate and young adult, I’m mesmerized because everyone around you expect a lot from you at this crucial stage of our lives. These days, too much pressure is put on youths, they have to struggle for themselves to make ends meet and strive to afford a daily income probably because their parents can no longer meet up with their financial demands and they really need assistance but no one is willing to offer or these youths don’t even have anyone to rely on at all.

These days, no extended relatives wants to help willing without knowing they have something to gain in return especially if you are a female. Writing from experience, I’d like to take my readers on a flashback journey to my year two in a state university, those times were part of my toughest times, I really needed financial assistance because my parents could no longer assist due to health issues. Although, it has always been like that since year one but I felt a bit calm knowing I could meet up with an extended relative I usually call “uncle” in his office and he would sort of out if not all, some of my needs in school and still give me a pocket money to scale through the week. It has always been like this till I noticed my uncle would make sensual comments about my body growth and asked if I had a boyfriend which I would casually dismiss until one day, he offered to take me out to eat and drove to an hotel, that was when my brain clicked and I had to quickly set my phone on alarm so it’ll seem like a friend was calling me and I really needed to get back to class. Since that encounter, I decided to stay away from him. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying he’s a bad man neither would I have offered myself in return for a lot of things he has done for me but I felt it wasn’t right because I grew up with this person, we go way back to the time of me wearing diapers. Also, I felt bad because my allowance was abruptly cut off with excuses and I had to double my strife and it continued this way till I noticed things weren’t going to get better or things has somehow refused to get better. I needed more money because I was always late on several payments and at times starve besides, I couldn’t combine working with academics as a full time student, my results had stated that. I didn’t want to ask for help anymore so I went online and started researching how to make easy cash from the comfort of your house, it was there I was introduced to loan apps, a new financial aid platform to assist people by lending them money with minimal interest and zero collateral, just a few information and you’re ready. This is too good to be real but I tried it anyway and bam! I was met with ridiculous loans, outrageous interest and minimal due dates.

“Eei God, Kileleyi?” I exclaimed while looking at aimloan app. N24000 to pay N30000 for seven days?! What will happen if I don’t get the money within seven days, I didn’t feel it would be a good idea to find out so I logged out and tried for another app, okash, easemoni and others. The highest extension was fourteen days. Disappointed, I sat down in grieve, I really needed to pay my school fees, hostel bills and even final year project. This wasn’t what I was expecting but it is what I got. Loan apps are not a financial aid platform, it is a modernized weapon of mental slavery fashioned against Nigerians by Nigerians. If you have ever experienced the sudden fear that strikes into your chest when you see that caller id (01…) and your loan is not even due yet, the scornful lips of their workers when they call you or message you to threaten you and insult you and all your life worth because of a couple of thousands, then you know what I’m trying to depict. There’s no point reasoning with them because you can sleep and wake up to a public defamation of your picture, address and name on social media platforms tagged as a chronic debtor. Most people have committed suicide, most people run helter skelter just to pay the outrageous interest they add to their money. A lot of youths would rather go into cyber fraud or something called “hookup” just to provide themselves with the comfort they long for, others work tirelessly and aimlessly but it’s still not enough. Everything in the country keeps going backwards, so tell me, when will like-minded not try to borrow money from loan apps despite the unfavourable circumstances surrounding it? It’s because they don’t have anywhere to get it from. These loan providers too know that you don’t have anywhere to get it from so they borrow you and taunt you like a malignant wound. Many people cringe In fear and live in shame because of public defamation and disgrace. Only few are strong enough to withhold the hassle.

If there’s one thing I’ve observed in people within the age bracket (17-28), it is the secret use of loan apps. A financial platform has now become something of shame and secrecy, only discussed in hushed voices and locked in the phone’s freezer. No one wants to admit to using or lending from them, no one wants to go through shame. When the topic is brought up among peer gatherings, everyone silently avoid the discussion but deep down majority of them are being harassed by loan app workers who threaten to do and undo all in the name of money. It’s like a platform built for torture. I refer to youths mostly because youths now function from their phones and these apps have found a way to pop up as ads and apps on google play store so there’s no way you won’t notice them. Older generations also borrow but not from loan apps, I’ve heard about LAPO Microfinance seize people’s goods or even kidnap and lock them in dirty toilets for days until a friend or relative comes to pay them and bail the victim. This is the height of moral decadence in our society and I don’t think it will get better soon because the roots has gone so deep.

Lastly, I’ll also like to add that this article is not for everyone, but if you find the contents relatable, then this is for you. However, with my little experience in life and living in this country, I feel that humanity has reduced to the bare minimum, everyone is going through a lot of things and like the Yorubas say, “it is the clothes we put on that covers our nakedness.” So, if you still have some good left in you, be kind to people if you have the chance to, you can’t tell who is on the verge of loosing it completely. Almost everyone’s mental health is frail and can snap like a dry twig under the slightest pressure. If you can relate to this post wholeheartedly or partially, I hope you heal from whatever keeps you crying in the dark corners of your room.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started